Officer Web Site Login

Richard D. Clanton - Louisiana's Father of FBLA PDF Print E-mail


The Richard D. Clanton Memorial Award is named after the Louisiana's Father of FBLA.  Mr. Clanton played the most significant part in bringing FBLA to Louisiana.  Mr. Clanton began his teaching career in Business Education at Ponchatoula and later taught at Bolton High School in Alexandria.  He organized the third local chapter in Louisiana.  The first chapter was Natchitoches High School in 1947.  He was instrumental in organizing Louisiana as a state chapter.  Mr. Clanton was asked to serve on President John Kennedy's National Council for Youth.

Louisiana was organized in 1949 and received its National Charter in April of 1950.  Louisiana soon became one of the most active states in FBLA and the first national president was Jeron LaFargue (Sulphur High School - 1952-53) from Louisiana.  Louisiana has had eight national presidents including Mr. Clanton's daughter, Francis Clanton Farlow.  Francis Clanton was elected the ninth national president and served during the 1960-61 membership year.

Mr. Clanton died in July of 1970.  At the time of his death he was the Director of Business and Office Education for Louisiana and a member of the National Board of Directors for FBLA.  He played a big part in getting Dr. Edward Miller to head the national association.  Most of all, Mr. Clanton is remembered for establishing the Louisiana FBLA chapter and dedicating his professional life to young people.
From the time that Mildred Lenore Hagg married Richard D. Clanton on Christmas Eve in 1940, she was an integral part of all he did.  Mildred Clanton was involved with FBLA from the time the first Louisiana chapter was founded until the State Leadership Conference of 2002.  Mrs. Clanton died in September of 2002.

She enjoyed going to the small towns and large towns participating in all manners of FBLA activities.  After Richard Clanton died, Mrs. Clanton stayed in touch with FBLA through judging the Richard D. Clanton Memorial Award at the state conferences.  She read every letter and resume', and while she was physically able, she enjoyed visiting with all of the teachers she knew at the state conferences each year.  Even when she was no longer physically able to attend the state conferences, she insisted on reviewing every Richard D. Clanton Memorial Award application.

Mr. and Mrs. Richard D. Clanton's daughters, Frances Clanton Farlow and Sammy Sue Clanton Thibo, judged the Richard D. Clanton Memorial award together until Mrs. Farlow's death in 2011.  At this time Sammy Sue Clanton Thibo and her daughter-in-law, Elizabeth Wright Cassano of Alexandria stay in touch with FBLA by judging the Richard D. Clanton Memorial Award at the state conferences and presenting the award on the morning of the awards session.

Winners since the Richard D. Clanton Memorial Award's inception:

1971 Judy Southerland Natchitoches Central High School
1972 Tim Brown Fair Park High School
1973 Richard Elgin Denham Springs High School
1974 Margaret Sepulvado Boyce High School
1975 Wanda Lemon Leonville High School
1976 Becky Deshotels Vidrine High School
1977 Kevin Duplechain Port Barre High School
Lisa Southerland Natchitoches Central High School
1978 Tommy Fontenot Vidrine High School
1979 Ricky Stevens Leesville High School
1980 Melissa Palmer Zwolle High School
1981 Donna Miley Denham Springs High School
1982 Susan Arthur Natchitoches Central High School
1983 Sherie Doerge Minden High School
1984 James Winford Minden High School
1985 Ava Fontenot Oberlin High School
1986 Gina McLain Atlanta High School
1987 Jason Broussard Delcambre High School
1988 Karen Kennedy Natchitoches Central High School
1989 Monica Stroud Atlanta High School
1990 Kelly White Winnfield Senior High School
1991 Johnathan Fontenot Sacred Heart High School
1992 Precious Chavis Opelousas Senior High School
1993 Ashley Dunahoe Natchitoches Central High School
1994 Brooke Kidd Atlanta High School
1995 Nicole Birdwell Natchitoches Central High School
1996 John Robert Crain Winnfield Senior High School
1997 Alysia Nicole Rhodes Homer High School
1998 Emily Morrow Leesville High School
1999 Laurie Stromer Sacred Heart High School
2000 Sunny Bergeron Sacred Heart High School
2001 Emily Landreneau Sacred Heart High School
2002 Rachel Smith Leesville High School
2003 Jessica Pitcher Natchitoches Central High School
2004 Abby Bergeron Sacred Heart High School
2005 Jessica Deen Sacred Heart High School
2006 Ruben Dickey Hathaway High School
2007 Alicia Griffin Beau Chene High School
2008 Daniel Manuel Sacred Heart High School
2009 Jacob Poole Hackberry High School
2010 Trever Eymard South LaFourche High School
2011 Nicholas Lang Atlanta High School
2012 Amy Stelly Beau Chene High School
2013 Logan James Buckeye High School
2014 Kristina Bynum Zachary High School

Events Calendar

March 2018
25 26 27 28 1 2 3
4 5 6 7 8 9 10
11 12 13 14 15 16 17
18 19 20 21 22 23 24
25 26 27 28 29 30 31

Latest Events

Sun Mar 25
LA FBLA State Leadership Conference
Joomla Templates by Joomlashack